Overview
- On the fourth ball of Sri Lanka’s Super Over, umpire Gazi Sohel gave Dasun Shanaka out caught behind off Arshdeep Singh before a direct hit caught him short of his crease.
- Shanaka reviewed, UltraEdge showed no bat involved, and the caught-behind decision was overturned, yet the run-out did not apply because the ball had already become dead.
- MCC Law 20.1.1.3 and DRS guidance specify that once an on-field out is signalled, the ball is deemed dead from that instant, so no later dismissal on the same delivery can stand.
- India’s players questioned the call on the field, and the umpire explained the ruling; Shanaka was dismissed on the very next delivery as Sri Lanka finished with two runs in the Super Over.
- Suryakumar Yadav’s side then ran three off the first ball to win, while former players and coaches, including Irfan Pathan and Sanath Jayasuriya, used the incident to urge clearer rules communication.