Overview
- La Sasso was assessed the penalty on the par-4 sixth at the Country Club of Jackson, according to the Associated Press, which confirmed the ruling with a PGA Tour official.
- The infraction changed his score on No. 6 from par to double bogey, revising his opening round to a 4-under 68 and placing him in a tie for 13th.
- Specific details of what he did to trigger the ruling have not been disclosed, and he declined to speak with reporters after the round.
- Rule 8.1a bars improving conditions affecting a stroke, such as altering the ground surface or moving loose impediments into position.
- The Ole Miss senior and reigning NCAA individual champion is competing on a sponsor exemption in his sixth PGA Tour start.