Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Tripping Call Wipes Out Dolphins' 36-Yard Waddle Play on Thursday Night

A broadcast rules analyst said the block was legal under the NFL's tripping rule.

Overview

  • Officials assessed a 15-yard tripping foul on RB Ollie Gordon, wiping out a 36-yard Tua Tagovailoa pass to Jaylen Waddle that reached the Baltimore 7.
  • Amazon Prime rules analyst Terry McAulay, a former NFL referee, said the action was not a foul and labeled the call incorrect.
  • The ruling turned a prime scoring opportunity into a Dolphins punt on that drive.
  • Gordon was visibly upset on the sideline, then exited with an ankle injury and was listed as questionable to return.
  • The league rule bans using a leg or foot to obstruct an opponent, a sparsely worded standard that fueled criticism of the decision.