Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Titans’ Brian Callahan Admits Rule Misread After Skipping Challenge on Apparent Catch

The coach said he alone erred on a third‑quarter sideline play that replays indicated met the NFL standard for a completed pass.

Overview

  • Callahan told reporters Monday his interpretation of the catch rule was wrong, took full responsibility, and said he should have challenged the ruling.
  • The NFL rulebook allows a catch when a player secures the ball and makes inbounds contact with both feet or any body part other than the hands.
  • Rookie Elic Ayomanor appeared to get his elbow down inbounds on a 21–23 yard gain that was ruled incomplete, leading Tennessee to punt in a 20-12 loss at Denver.
  • After the game Callahan said, “An elbow doesn’t equal two feet,” a misstatement he later corrected while declining to detail internal communication on challenges.
  • The non-challenge joined a broader critique of game management following 13 penalties for 131 yards and offensive struggles in the season opener.