Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Titans’ Brian Callahan Admits Catch-Rule Misinterpretation, Says He Should Have Challenged Key Play

The coach took responsibility for misreading an elbow-down sideline grab in Sunday’s 20-12 defeat in Denver.

Overview

  • Callahan told reporters Monday that his interpretation of the catch rule was wrong and said he should have challenged the third-quarter play.
  • The pass to rookie Elic Ayomanor was ruled out of bounds despite replay showing his elbow appeared to land inbounds, a gain Reuters reported would have been 21 yards with Tennessee trailing 13-12.
  • After the game Sunday, Callahan said he kept the flag based on input from upstairs and remarked that “an elbow doesn’t equal two feet,” a rationale that conflicted with the rule.
  • The NFL rulebook states a catch is completed with control and contact inbounds by both feet or by any body part other than the hands.
  • Tennessee punted after the sequence and did not score again in a 20-12 loss that also featured 13 penalties for 131 yards, intensifying scrutiny of coaching decisions.