Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Sainz Hit With 10-Second Penalty for Dutch GP Clash as Stewards Cite Apex Guideline

The ruling, grounded in the inside car’s right at the corner apex, has renewed scrutiny of how F1’s guidelines are applied.

Overview

  • Contact occurred at the safety‑car restart when Carlos Sainz tried to go around the outside of Liam Lawson into Turn 1, giving both drivers punctures and ending their points chances.
  • Stewards said Sainz’s front axle was not ahead at the apex, giving Lawson the right to the corner, and imposed a 10‑second penalty plus two licence points after reviewing video, telemetry and radio.
  • Sainz denounced the verdict as a “complete joke,” said he would seek an explanation from officials, and argued he was positioning for later in the lap rather than committing to an outside pass.
  • Lawson rejected blame, saying he followed the rules on a slippery restart and urged Sainz to speak to him privately rather than criticize him publicly.
  • Williams teammate Alex Albon and some analysts questioned the call, pointing to footage that appeared to show Lawson opening the wheel, feeding a broader debate over stewarding consistency.