Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Rizwan Escapes Hit-Wicket Appeal on Day 3 Under MCC Law 35.2

Officials judged he had completed his stroke under MCC Law 35.2.

Overview

  • On the final ball of Day 3 in Rawalpindi, Mohammad Rizwan drove Keshav Maharaj and then accidentally dislodged the bails with his bat.
  • South Africa, led by wicketkeeper Kyle Verreynne, appealed for hit-wicket, but on-field umpire Sharfuddoula rejected the appeal after a brief exchange.
  • Broadcast replays showed the ball had not been returned to the keeper when the bails fell, prompting questions about whether the ball was still in play.
  • Analysts cited MCC Law 35.2, which deems a batter not out if the wicket is broken after completing the act of receiving the delivery, aligning with the umpires’ call.
  • Reports noted the umpire had effectively called the over before the bails were dislodged, and play closed with Pakistan 94-4, leading by 23, with Rizwan on 16.