Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Referee Cites T‑Formation Rule in Overturning Jared Goff Trick‑Play TD in Lions’ Loss to Chiefs

Craig Wrolstad said Goff failed to come to a full one‑second stop after going in motion as required for a T‑formation quarterback.

Overview

  • The NFL rulebook provision at Rule 7, Section 4, Article 2, Item 3 confirms that a quarterback who has assumed the under‑center position must stop for at least one second before the snap if he then goes in motion.
  • Wrolstad explained the crew held a lengthy discussion to piece together the play and said the touchdown would have counted if Goff had paused after starting his motion.
  • Officials noted the requirement is specific to a T‑formation quarterback; had Goff never assumed that position, the stop requirement would have differed from standard shotgun motion rules.
  • Goff said he had never heard that proximity to the center could define him as the quarterback for this purpose and believed only placing hands under center triggered the restriction.
  • Detroit settled for a field goal on the opening drive and later fell 30-17 as Patrick Mahomes went 22-of-30 for 257 yards and three touchdowns against a Lions secondary missing multiple starters.