Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Nonreviewable Forward-Progress Call on Eagles’ Tush Push Reignites Rule Debate

A nonreviewable forward progress ruling kept the ball with Philadelphia, sharpening pressure to revisit the tactic after the season.

Overview

  • On 4th-and-1 in Week 8, officials ruled Jalen Hurts’ forward progress was stopped as Kayvon Thibodeaux stripped the ball, making the apparent fumble nonreviewable under NFL rules.
  • Giants coach Brian Daboll challenged the spot, lost the challenge, and was charged a timeout after the forward-progress ruling prevented a replay review.
  • Two plays later, Jalen Hurts threw a touchdown to Saquon Barkley to put Philadelphia up 14-7, a swing that amplified frustration on the New York sideline.
  • Head referee Brad Rodgers confirmed the forward-progress decision postgame, while Thibodeaux labeled the call “bulls***” and media rules analysts highlighted the replay limitation.
  • The incident adds to season-long concerns about officiating consistency on the short-yardage sneak and is fueling calls that owners or the competition committee could consider changes next offseason.