Particle.news
Download on the App Store

NFL Admits Wrong Roughing-the-Kicker Call on Cowboys After Punt Tip Went Unseen

Replay assist was not triggered because the enhanced view showing Ryan Flournoy’s fingertip contact aired too late.

Overview

  • Vice president of instant replay Mark Butterworth said the flag should have been picked up if clear video of the tip had been available in time.
  • FOX’s enhanced angle that showed Flournoy touching the ball did not reach officials until a play or two after enforcement, which exceeded the window to intervene.
  • Cowboys coach Brian Schottenheimer chose not to challenge after staff judged their available replays inconclusive despite Flournoy saying he hit the ball.
  • The sustained penalty kept Philadelphia’s drive alive and it ended with a Jalen Hurts touchdown that made the score 14-0.
  • Dallas eventually prevailed 24-21 on Brandon Aubrey’s game-ending field goal, leaving the error as a spotlight on replay’s reliance on broadcast timing.