Particle.news
Download on the App Store

NBA Referees Call Out Sixers Analyst Over Backcourt No-Call

The league’s L2M review upheld the no-call under the momentum exception.

Overview

  • In the final seconds of HawksSixers, Nickeil Alexander-Walker caught a frontcourt inbound and was fouled after his momentum carried him into the backcourt, with no violation called.
  • Sixers broadcasters Kate Scott and Alaa Abdelnaby insisted it was a backcourt violation during the telecast.
  • The NBA Referees’ official X account tagged Abdelnaby and stated the play was legal, posting a thread with examples to explain the ruling.
  • Under the rule, a player does not gain frontcourt status on such throw-ins until establishing positive position, and a late-game momentum exception applies.
  • The league’s L2M report deemed the no-call correct as Alexander-Walker then made two free throws in a 120-117 Atlanta win, with former referee Steve Javie agreeing and some Sixers-affiliated analysts dissenting.