Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Missed Illegal Pull on McCaffrey TD Helped 49ers Seal Win, Analysts Say

The action falls under the NFL’s rarely enforced prohibition on pulling a runner under Rule 12-1-4, with no immediate league comment.

Overview

  • NBC rules analyst Terry McAulay said No. 75 Connor Colby pulled Christian McCaffrey into the end zone, a 10-yard foul for assisting the runner under Rule 12-1-4.
  • Officials did not throw a flag, the touchdown stood, and San Francisco led 20-10 with 2:26 remaining on Sunday Night Football.
  • By rule the penalty would have been enforced from about the 2-yard line, wiping out the score and creating first-and-goal near the 12.
  • Pulling fouls are almost never called in the NFL, with Football Zebras tracing the last flagged instance to 1991 and noting a similar uncalled play in last season’s playoffs.
  • 49ers players and coaches downplayed the infraction, as Colby said he didn’t realize it was a penalty and Kyle Shanahan offered little, while media called for clearer enforcement or a rule change.