Particle.news

Download on the App Store

MCC Confirms Akash Deep’s Delivery to Dismiss Joe Root Was Legal

Under Law 21.5.1 cricket’s law-makers clarified that the back foot must land within the return crease on first contact, endorsing the third umpire’s ruling.

Akash Deep dismissed Joe root for six runs in second innings in Birmingham
Image
Image
Image

Overview

  • The MCC outlined Law 21.5.1, which defines a fair delivery by the position of the back foot at the moment of landing.
  • Replays showed the back foot was within the crease at first contact, validating the third umpire’s decision not to call a no-ball.
  • The ruling settles doubts over the Day 4 delivery that bowled Joe Root in the second Anderson–Tendulkar Trophy Test at Edgbaston.
  • Akash Deep completed a ten-wicket match haul, becoming the second Indian bowler to achieve this on English soil.
  • India’s 336-run victory at Edgbaston leveled the series 1–1 against England.