Particle.news

Download on the App Store

MCC Backs Third Umpire on Muneeba Ali Run-Out in IndiaPakistan World Cup Clash

The club said Law 30.1.2 does not apply because the batter was not moving toward her ground.

Overview

  • MCC called the third umpire's ruling "entirely correct," confirming the dismissal complied with the Laws of Cricket.
  • Replays showed Muneeba Ali briefly grounded her bat before it was airborne when Deepti Sharma's throw broke the stumps.
  • Third umpire Kerrin Klaaste overturned the on-field not-out call after the frame-by-frame review.
  • Pakistan captain Fatima Sana contested the decision with fourth umpire Kim Cotton, but there was no change to the outcome.
  • MCC further clarified the ball remained in play after the LBW appeal and that the correct mode of dismissal was run out.