Overview
- Siem hit a provisional on Wentworth's 18th believing his tee shot was out of bounds before a spectator located the original ball in or near a hazard.
- He picked up the original, declared it unplayable, and continued with the provisional, a sequence that violates rules governing hazards and provisional balls.
- In the scoring area he recognized the mistake, called for a referee, and accepted disqualification when officials confirmed his score could not stand.
- Siem posted a video denying any intent to cheat and explaining that fatigue influenced his decisions on the hole.
- He recently withdrew from the Amgen Irish Open with back pain and says he will rest and aim to tee it up at the Open de France next week.