Overview
- On fourth-and-goal from the 1, Jared Goff shifted from under center as David Montgomery took a direct snap and threw back to Goff for an apparent touchdown.
- After an initial signal of a score, the crew conferred and ruled Goff never became set before the snap, nullifying the play for illegal motion.
- NBC rules analyst Terry McAulay explained that a quarterback leaving under center must pause to establish as a back, citing the NFL’s Rule 7, Section 4.
- Because penalties of this type are not subject to replay, the on-field discussion determined the outcome without video review.
- Following the flag and a delay of game, Detroit settled for a 28-yard Jake Bates field goal to take a 3-0 lead, prompting swift criticism from fans on social media.