Overview
- Stewards ruled Carlos Sainz wholly or predominantly to blame for contact with Liam Lawson at the Zandvoort restart, issuing a 10‑second penalty and two licence points.
- The collision came as Sainz attempted an outside move into Turn 1 on cold tyres, damaging his front wing and puncturing Lawson’s left‑rear tyre.
- Both drivers pitted and fell to the back before recovering to finish outside the points, with Lawson 12th and Sainz 13th.
- Sainz denounced the sanction as a “complete joke,” criticised Lawson’s racecraft, and said he will raise stewarding concerns in his role with the GPDA.
- Lawson defended his positioning under the current overtaking guidelines, noted the apex‑ahead criterion, and asked Sainz to address grievances in a private conversation.