Overview
- The stewards ruled Carlos Sainz wholly or predominantly to blame for contact with Liam Lawson at the Zandvoort restart and issued a 10‑second penalty plus two licence points.
- Contact occurred as Sainz tried to pass Lawson around the outside of Turn 1 on cold tyres after the Safety Car, with both cars suffering punctures that forced immediate pit stops.
- The setback dropped both drivers out of contention, with Lawson classified 12th and Sainz 13th after recovering from the rear of the field.
- Lawson defended his positioning under the current overtaking guidelines and told Sainz to address grievances directly rather than through media interviews.
- Sainz called Lawson “stupid” on team radio, condemned the ruling as unfair, and said he will raise the case in his capacity as a GPDA director, as debate over stewarding consistency intensified.