Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Giannis Highlight Revives Questions Over NBA Gather Rule

The non-call reflects the rulebook’s definition of the gather with two steps permitted after control.

Overview

  • During the Bucks’ Oct. 28 home win over the Knicks, Giannis Antetokounmpo caught the ball near halfcourt, took one dribble and appeared to take several steps before scoring over Karl-Anthony Towns.
  • Officials did not call traveling on the play, and the result stands with Milwaukee winning 121–111 and Antetokounmpo finishing with 37 points, 8 rebounds and 7 assists.
  • On NBC’s broadcast, Mike Tirico explained that step counting begins at the gather—when a player has full control of the ball—after which two steps are allowed.
  • Analysts Reggie Miller and Jamal Crawford expressed skepticism on air as slow-motion replays circulated widely online.
  • Coverage cited the NBA rulebook’s definitions in Section II and the two-step allowance in Section XIII, fueling renewed discussion about how the rule is enforced in real time versus how it looks to fans.