Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Football’s rulemakers to retake accidental double-touch penalties

The change, prompted by Julian Alvarez’s disallowed Champions League spot-kick, clarifies that successful penalties spoiled by an unintentional second touch will be replayed from July 1, 2025.

Overview

  • IFAB has updated Law 14 to require a retake when a penalty kick scores despite an accidental double touch by the taker.
  • The clarification distinguishes between unintentional double contacts and deliberate second touches that originally triggered a missed penalty.
  • UEFA’s call for a review followed Atletico Madrid’s elimination after Julian Alvarez’s shootout goal was disallowed by VAR for a slip-induced double touch.
  • Under the new rule, unsuccessful accidental double-touch kicks will result in an indirect free kick during play or be recorded as missed in shootouts.
  • The updated procedures take effect on July 1, 2025, and can be applied at upcoming tournaments including the Club World Cup beginning June 14.