Overview
- Dermot Gallagher ruled on Sky Sports News that Bayindir placed his hand on William Saliba and that no foul occurred, validating the on-field decision.
- Former referee Mark Clattenburg joined Richard Keys in arguing that Saliba impeded Bayindir and that the goal should have been disallowed.
- VAR did not advise referee Simon Hooper to review the incident, so Riccardo Calafiori’s tap-in from Declan Rice’s corner remains officially intact.
- Manchester United manager Ruben Amorim defended both Bayindir’s performance and his decision to start him over a fit Andre Onana, citing strict interpretation of the rules.
- The split verdict has sharpened scrutiny of Arsenal’s set-piece threat and intensified questions about United’s goalkeeper hierarchy.