Particle.news
Download on the App Store

Early Whistle on Eagles’ Tush Push Wipes Out Giants Fumble Recovery in Week 8

A forward‑progress ruling ended the play and, by rule, blocked replay review of the apparent strip.

Overview

  • On 4th‑and‑1 from the 10‑yard line, Jalen Hurts ran the Eagles’ push sneak, the ball came loose, and the Giants fell on it before officials ruled the play dead for forward progress.
  • Giants head coach Brian Daboll challenged the spot, the challenge failed, and New York lost a timeout.
  • Because forward progress is not reviewable, the on‑field ruling could not be overturned despite replays showing the ball coming out.
  • The Eagles kept possession and later finished the drive with a Hurts touchdown pass to Saquon Barkley.
  • Reporters and fans on social media criticized the decision, with Giants insider Art Stapleton calling the officiating a disgrace, renewing scrutiny of how the push‑sneak is officiated.