Particle.news

Download on the App Store

DRS Call Leaves Shanaka Not Out in Super Over of IndiaSri Lanka Asia Cup

The on-field caught-behind signal preceded the throw, rendering the subsequent run-out invalid.

Overview

  • On the fourth ball of Arshdeep Singh's Super Over, umpire Gazi Sohel ruled Dasun Shanaka out caught behind, and the batter immediately reviewed.
  • Because the review was called before Sanju Samson's direct hit, ICC DRS protocol deemed the ball dead and the run-out attempt void.
  • The TV umpire found no edge on replays, overturning the caught-behind decision and allowing Shanaka to continue.
  • Shanaka was dismissed on the next delivery, Sri Lanka finished with two runs in the Super Over, and India won with the first ball of their reply.
  • Indian players sought clarification on-field as Sohel explained the ruling, with Irfan Pathan later echoing the interpretation of the law.