Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Dolphins Seek NFL Clarification on Whistle That Ended Josh Allen Kneeldown

Coach Mike McDaniel plans to ask why the ball was ruled dead after a botched snap.

Overview

  • Near halftime, Josh Allen mishandled the snap on a planned kneeldown, recovered the ball and tossed it to an official as whistles sounded.
  • Miami contends the sequence looked like a live fumble before the whistle and will contact the league for an explanation of the ruling.
  • McDaniel said he received no feedback yet and chose not to argue on the field, describing a decision to avoid an “adult temper tantrum.”
  • Once officials judge a player to have given himself up, the play is blown dead quickly to prevent contact, a timing call Miami questioned.
  • The ruling likely did not affect the game because time expired, though Dolphins players were positioned for a potential return if play continued.