Overview
- On the fourth ball of the Super Over in Dubai, umpire Gazi Sohel raised his finger for a caught behind against Dasun Shanaka as Sanju Samson simultaneously effected a direct hit with the batter well short.
- Shanaka reviewed the caught-behind decision and UltraEdge showed no contact, so the TV umpire overturned it, yet the run-out could not be given because the original out call had already rendered the ball dead under Law 20.1.1.3.
- Law 3.7.1 confirms that even if an on-field Out is changed to Not out on review, the ball is still considered dead from the moment of the original decision, nullifying any subsequent play on that delivery.
- Umpire Sohel explained the sequence to India captain Suryakumar Yadav on the field, with former players including Irfan Pathan and broadcasters later clarifying the law for viewers.
- Shanaka fell the very next ball as Sri Lanka posted two in the Super Over; India then scored three off the first delivery to remain unbeaten and set a final against Pakistan on September 28.