Overview
- Six Nations Rugby scheduled a video hearing for Tuesday chaired by Jennifer Donovan with Val Toma and Donal Courtney, set for 13:00 GMT.
- The case is being heard under Law 9.16, which covers charging or knocking down a ball-carrier without an attempt to grasp.
- Referee Angus Gardner issued a permanent red after consultation with assistants and the TMO, having initially let play continue in real time.
- South Africa finished a 32-17 win in Paris with 14 players, as the card came just before half-time for contact to Thomas Ramos’ head.
- Opinion remains split, with former All Blacks calling the straight red harsh while ex-referee Owen Doyle says dismissal was justified and questions the lack of an HIA for Ramos; the ruling will determine availability for Tests against Italy, Ireland and Wales, with some outlets only predicting a lengthy ban.