Overview
- The Independent Foul Play Review Committee imposed a four-match suspension on Sheehan, which can be reduced to three with completion of a World Rugby coaching intervention programme
- Panel members determined that Sheehan’s elbow-first charge into the ruck constituted reckless foul play under Law 9.20(a) with direct contact to Tom Lynagh’s head at high degree of danger
- Sheehan’s refusal to accept that foul play occurred and that the offence warranted the citing prevented full mitigation and set the mandatory mid-range entry point of six matches
- He will miss Leinster’s pre-season match against Cardiff and United Rugby Championship games against the Stormers and Sharks, with availability for the Munster derby contingent on completing intervention
- Tom Lynagh failed a head injury assessment after the hit and is ruled out of Australia’s first two Rugby Championship fixtures due to concussion