Overview
- On the fourth ball of Sri Lanka’s Super Over, umpire Gazi Sohel gave Dasun Shanaka out caught behind off Arshdeep Singh before Shanaka successfully reviewed with UltraEdge showing no edge.
- Because the on-field out was signalled, the ball was deemed dead at that instant under MCC Law 20.1 and related guidance, which meant Sanju Samson’s direct-hit run-out on the same delivery was void.
- The third umpire confirmed Shanaka not out after review, preserving his wicket despite being short of his ground when the stumps were hit.
- Shanaka was dismissed on the next ball, Sri Lanka finished with two runs in the Super Over, and India won by running three off their first delivery to advance to Sunday’s Asia Cup final against Pakistan.
- Players sought explanations on the field as confusion lingered, while Sri Lanka coach Sanath Jayasuriya urged fine-tuning of the laws and former India all-rounder Irfan Pathan publicly outlined the ruling.