Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Asofa-Solomona Faces Ban After Elbow Leaves Simpkin With Head Injury

He faces the judiciary tomorrow following an elbow that disallowed a try, injuring Jake Simpkin

Image
Image

Overview

  • Nelson Asofa-Solomona was placed on report after elbowing Jake Simpkin’s face during the first half of Storm’s 18-16 loss, nullifying a Harry Grant try.
  • Simpkin was removed for a head injury assessment and ruled out of the match under a category one HIA, prompting Manly to contest the grading.
  • Asofa-Solomona will appear before the NRL Match Review Committee and faces an automatic 11-day stand-down with a likely multi-game suspension if his grade two dangerous contact charge is upheld.
  • The incident represents Asofa-Solomona’s fifth judiciary charge in two seasons, following a four-match suspension last year that sidelined him for the grand final.
  • Melbourne Storm are preparing for his possible absence in upcoming rounds if his appeal fails.