Overview
- Officials penalized Tart 15 yards for unnecessary roughness in the third quarter of the Sept. 5 opener in São Paulo, but he remained in the game as the Chargers beat the Chiefs 27-21.
- Broadcast rules analyst Terry McAulay, citing NFL officiating executive Walt Anderson, said Tart’s open-hand contact to Kelce’s head was not an automatic disqualification.
- Reid told reporters he did not understand the distinction and said he would address the matter with the league.
- Tart later posted on Instagram, writing “I’m too swift with it even in Brazil…” in a jab that referenced Kelce’s fiancée, Taylor Swift, prompting pushback from fans.
- As of the latest reporting, there has been no announced discipline beyond the in-game penalty, though the league could still review the play.