Particle.news

Download on the App Store

Akash Deep Breaks Silence on Duckett Send-Off as ICC Faces Sanction Pressure

Deep’s first public account of the send-off reveals his version of the exchange, with mounting pressure on the ICC to impose sanctions.

Overview

  • In his first remarks since the Oval Test, Deep said Duckett told him “it was his day and I will not be able to get him out” before edging to the keeper.
  • After dismissing Duckett, Deep said he responded “You miss, I hit. Not always will you win. This time, I win” while placing an arm around the England opener.
  • KL Rahul intervened immediately to pull Deep away and umpire Ahsan Raza held a brief discussion with the pacer over the celebration.
  • Duckett’s coach James Knott and former players Ricky Ponting and Mike Atherton have publicly urged the ICC to penalize Deep for his conduct.
  • The ICC has not yet issued any formal sanction against Deep, leaving its disciplinary review of the incident unresolved.