Overview
- On a fourth-and-inches sneak in Week 8, officials ruled Jalen Hurts’ forward progress was stopped before a strip by Kayvon Thibodeaux, making the apparent fumble unreviewable and helping set up an Eagles touchdown in a 38-20 win.
- Jason Kelce said the play was a fumble and a missed call, adding that if officials cannot properly administer the short-yardage push, that could be a valid reason to ban it.
- Kelce also criticized the NFL for fining players who question officiating after Thibodeaux called the explanation “bulls—,” then tempered his comments when warned about a potential fine by teammate Brian Burns.
- Tony Dungy argued the league’s “non-reviewable” categories undermine credibility, pointing to the Hurts sequence as an example of replay limits preventing a clear correction.
- Owners voted 22-10 in May to outlaw pushing the ball carrier but fell two votes short, and with the league acknowledging the play is difficult to officiate, any rule change is expected to be considered in the offseason.